Over the last few years, California has enacted two laws to regulate registered sex offenders; Megan's Law, which was enacted in California in 2006, requires sex offenders who are released from prison to notify local law enforcement about where they are living after release from prison; and Jessica's Law, which prohibits registered sex offenders from living within 2,000 feet from a school or park or any place where children gather.
A proposed new law that will soon go before the Orange County Board of Supervisors next would prevent registered sex offenders from entering parks and playgrounds. Violators could face misdemeanor charges. If the ordinance is approved, it would add to the restrictions that sex offenders in Orange County currently face in terms of where they can live after they have been included in the sex offender registry.
Registered sex offenders would be prevented from visiting parks, harbors and beaches maintained, operated, owned or leased by the County. Violators could be looking at up to six months in prison and/or a $500 fine.
If you, or someone you know has been charged with a Sex Crime or Failure to Register as a Sex Offender, contact Los Angeles Criminal Defense Attorney, Robert M. Bernstein, for a free consultation today.